Public Safety ~ Our History

Northumberland County 911 was established in the early 1990’s and went online September 7, 1995.

The Department of Public Safety holds it’s headquarters in Sunbury Pennsylvania, Northumberland County, which is located in the central-eastern section of the state. The department serves a population of over 70,000; that includes 17 townships, 7 boroughs, and 2 cities.

Before the opening of the 911 center, three former communication centers ( Shamokin, Coal Township and Sunbury) provided services throughout the County of Northumberland. These communication centers are now closed. In 1996 the combination of the 911 center and the Northumberland County Emergency Management Agency formed what is now known as the Northumberland County Department of Public Safety.

The Northumberland County 911 center provides emergency dispatch for the following;

52 fire stations (8 of them housing a rescue), 19 fire police associations, 9 Basic Life Support Stations, 9 Quick Response Squads and 7 Advanced Life Support Units. In addition, Northumberland County Department of Public Safety provides services to the Sheriffs Department, County Coroner Office, District Judges, and 14 law enforcement agencies.

All staff are currently certified by the State of Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency as 911 emergency call takers. This certifies them to dispatch police, fire, and EMS.

Northumberland County Department of Public Safety dedicates it’s service to providing the best quality and professionalism to the people of Northumberland County, whether you live here, or are just passing through.

Comments are closed