Eight (8) school districts provide public education to students in Northumberland County.

    • Line Mountain School District,
      Which serves Herndon Borough, Jackson Township, Jordan Township, Little Mahanoy Township, Lower Mahanoy Township, Upper Mahanoy Township, Washington Township, West Cameron Township, and Zerbe Township. The School District operates three elementary schools, a Middle School and a High School.
    • Milton Area School District,
      Which serves East Chillisquaque Township, Milton Borough, Turbot Township, and West Chillisquaque Township. The School District also serves White Deer Township in Union County. The School District operates three elementary schools and a Junior-Senior High School.
    • Mt. Carmel Area School District,
      Which serves Mt. Carmel Borough, Mount Carmel Township, and Marion Heights Borough. The Mt. Carmel Area School District operates one elementary school and one high school.
    • Shamokin Area School District,
      Which serves Coal Township, East Cameron Township, the City of Shamokin, and Shamokin Township. The School District operates an elementary school, a middle school and a high school.
    • Shikellamy School District,
      Which serves Northumberland Borough, Point Township, Rockefeller Township, Snydertown Borough, the City of Sunbury, and Upper Augusta Township. The School District operates five elementary schools, two middle schools and one high school.
    • Warrior Run School District,
      Which serves Delaware Township, Lewis Township, Turbotville Borough, McEwensville Borough, and Watsontown Borough. The School District operates one elementary school and one Middle-Senior High School.


Public school students in Riverside Borough and Rush Township attend schools in the Danville Area School District and public school students in Ralpho Township attend schools in the Southern Columbia Area School District outside of Northumberland County. Neither School District has buildings or grounds in Northumberland County.

There are also many private schools serving the primary school population in Northumberland County. The Intermediate Unit works on behalf of the school districts in Northumberland County to find additional funding and coordinate strategic planning among the local school districts.


Schools of higher education located in Northumberland County include:

Luzerne County Community College, Shamokin Campus
Lackawanna College, Sunbury Campus
Triangle Tech, Sunbury Campus


Additionally, the following are all within a short distance of the County:

Bucknell University, Lewisburg
McCann School of Business, Lewisburg
Susquehanna University, Selinsgrove
Bloomsburg University, Bloomsburg
Penn State University, Schuylkill Campus, Schuylkill Haven
Penn State University, Hazelton Campus, Hazelton
Pennsylvania College of Technology, Williamsport

Comments are closed